Network for Evaluation of One Health

Short term scientific missions

Reports from Previous Short Term Scientific Missions

Simon Ruegg Barbara Haesler Massimo Canali Luís Carmo Walter Okello Laura Falzon Soledad Cuevas Elena Boriani Marilena Filippitzi Sandra Buttigieg Albert Muñoz Ilias Chantziaras Julie Garner Mijalche Santa Laura Tomassone Gabrielle Laing Anaïs Léger Sabina Seric Haracic Barbara Vogler Sara Savic Bruce Mieghan Sandra Buttigieg Liza Nielsen Aitor Vozmediano Thanos Angelou Patricia Poeta



The 12th (FINAL!!!) Call for STSM Applications for Missions between 1 January 2018 and 16 April 2018

All STSM activities related to the 12th call must occur in their entirety within the dates specified above.

The overall aim of NEOH is to enable appropriate evaluations of activities promoting One Health, including comparison of initiatives as well as informed decision-making and resource allocation.

Short Term Scientific Missions (STSM) are aimed at supporting individual mobility and at strengthening the existing networks and fostering collaborations by allowing scientists to visit an institution in another participating COST country or an approved Near Neighbouring Country (NNC), International Partner Country (IPC) institution or one of eight European scientific research (RTD) Organisations (see the COST Vademecum for further details).


Updated User guide for STSM (full text available here), explains the process of application/approval (now done entirely via eCOST – details are provided below in the section “APPLICATION PROCESS”) and provides option for applicants from inclusiveness countries to request pre-payment of 50% of the approved STSM grant upon confirmation by the host that STSM has started according to plan.

STSMs in NEOH should specifically contribute to the scientific objectives of the COST Action, whilst at the same time allowing those partaking in the missions to learn new techniques, gain access to specific data, instruments and / or methods not available in their own institutions / organisations, in particular of relevance for developing and performing evaluations of One Health activities.

Highest priority should be given to encouragement of early-stage career investigators (ECIs) participation in the COST Action activities. An applicant can be considered as being an ECI when the time that has elapsed between the award date of the applicants’ PhD and the date of the applicants first involvement in the NEOH COST Action does not exceed 8 years. Inclusiveness Target Countries (see list here) will be given high priority.

This 11th STSM call aims to attract applications from researchers wishing to contribute to the tasks of all Working Groups (1, 2, 3 and 4), in order to finalize remaining activities of their agenda (handbook, case studies, meta-analysis and dissemination).

In total, at least 4 STSMs are available in this period to assist the working groups in their progress.

For more information on the work in WG1, please contact Simon Rüegg (

For more information on the work in WG2, please contact Sara Savic (

For more information on the work in WG3, please contact Vladimir Grosbois (

For more information on the work in WG4, please contact Vlatko Ileski (

For more general information on STSMs, please contact Semra Čavaljuga (

For full details on the call see here